Cursor sizes in GTK and X

I’ve been using Crunchbang Linux for the past week, a lightweight Debian offshoot that packages with OpenBox.  The transition from Ubuntu has been fairly seamless, considering I’m still using Awesome anyway.  I’m liking it a lot, I was able to get a more recent wifi driver compiled for my laptop which means I’m having a lot less problems with my wifi connection dropping all the time like it did in Ubuntu.  (To be fair, this new driver would have probably compiled in Ubuntu as well.)

One of the gotchas I ran across was that somehow my mouse cursor settings got screwy and my cursor would look huge in some windows and not in others.  At first, I thought it was only GTK windows that resulted in the absurdly large cursor, but it turned out to be certain cursors in X windows too.  The following forum links helped: 

I added the following line to my .Xresources and .gtkrc-2.0:

# .Xresources

Xcursor.size: 16
# .gtkrc-2.0

gtk-cursor-theme-size=16 

…and all was well.

Leave a Reply

