On campus

Today marks the first day I’ve been on campus other than driving by in more than a month.  I don’t think I’ve ever been in Seattle but away from campus for this long.  I guess this marks a shift in my life as I graduate and leave academics.  For the past two months, I’ve been working on my thesis full-time and not had to come to campus for anything besides meetings.  Lately, I’ve had meetings at cafes instead (parking’s easier) and not had any reason to be here.

I had to stop by the department office today to talk to a professor about the relationship between syllables and tone-bearing units and decided to work on thesis stuff at a library.  I ran into a musician friend while at the library and stopped to catch up for a bit.  It was good to see him.  I used to run into people on campus all the time.  I wonder if I’ll still run into people in Seattle when I’m not on campus anymore.

Leave a Reply

